You are here

$15,000 at stake in Ultimate All-Rounder

Thomas, Lezama going for glory

Text Resize

-A A +A
Friday, October 6, 2017

Iraq Thomas in action.

Tobago’s Iraq Thomas and Leron Lezama will be hoping to upstage defending champion Mark Deyal at Sunday’s 2017 Ultimate All-rounder Single Wicket Competition at the Shaw Park Recreation Ground.

Ten all-rounders from throughout the country will battle for a winner take all $15,000 in the rescheduled event.

Deyal will be hoping to hold off Lezama and the hard hitting Iraq Thomas, as well as experienced T20 stand-out Reyad Emrit.

Thomas will be making his debut in the competition. The organisers completed negotiations with the Scarborough/Mason Hall all-rounder following his recent return from a highly successful campaign in minor league cricket in England. Iraq replaces fellow Tobagonian Navin Stewart, who will not get back from his USA stint in time to challenge for the title.

Iraq has the record for the most centuries in T20 cricket by a Tobago cricketer, most sixes in T20 cricket innings and the fastest T20 century, struck in 21 balls, in Tobago cricket competition last year. It’s that world record eclipsing West Indies opener Chris Gayle’s record of a century off 22 balls that catapulted Iraq to international stardom and numerous offers to play league cricket in England. He opted to join Cogglesbury and his exploits have steered that club to promotion.

The whole of Speyside is coming out to see their home boy make a grand attempt to win this competition.

Competition starts at 11 am with the qualifiers.


Akiel Cooper

Jahron Alfred

Leron Lezama

Reyad Emrit

Alian Laurent

Christopher Vincent

Mark Deyal

Iraq Thomas

Imran Khan

Marlon Richards