You are here

St Patrick’s march to title

Text Resize

-A A +A
Wednesday, December 2, 2015

(Top) St Patrick District during the march past. Tobago District on display. (Below) The teams face inspection during the march past competition

Tobago recently got its turn to play host, as players, supporters and officials representing various schools from Trinidad journeyed to the island to officially open this year’s Primary School’s Netball League. 

The teams donned their schools colours and represented as they participated in a keen march past competition. 

In the end, it was St Patrick’s Educational District of Trinidad that “jumped” off the season in winner’s row.

Speaking during the event, president of the National Primary Schools Netball Association, Kathleen Warner-Lall, said she hoped the student would make full use of the experience to develop an appreciation of the sport.

“I hope we all can revert to basics this year. Let’s teach the children to appreciate efforts to build friendships, respect others and to love netball. Put aside the madness to win the trophy and see that to work harmoniously is a crown which far surpasses the glory of the trophies.”

Also speaking, School Supervisor II in the Tobago House of Assembly’s Division of Education Youth Affairs and Sport, Karen Boatswain, said netball offers much more than physical exercise. 

“Netball equips our girls with the skills they need in a world of continuous and dynamic change. Through participation in sports, our youth will learn about team work, honesty, fair play, respect for authority and discipline.”

Prizes for winners of last year’s league were also distributed. 

In the overall district champions category, St Patrick Anglican School placed first, Scarborough Methodist Primary School were second and Signal Hill Government Primary School were third.

In zone A, St Patrick Anglican and Scarborough Methodist again took the top two positions, while Mt Gomery Government Primary School placed third.

St Patrick’s Anglican also took the trophy for overall team shooting as well as the second place in the district champion